African American Studies Faculty


Faculty
Face Photo HolderJoan Bryant
Associate Professor, African American Studies & Undergraduate Studies Director
201 Sims Hall
315-443-4399
jobryant@syr.edu


Horace CampbellHorace G. Campbell
Professor, African American Studies and Political Science; Director of African Initiative
211 Sims Hall
315-443-9353
hgcampbe@syr.edu


modestyLinda Carty
Associate Professor, African American Studies
205 Sims Hall
315-443-9345
lcarty@syr.edu


KL DixonKwame Dixon
Assistant Professor, African American Studies
206 Sims Hall
315-443-3097
dldixon@syr.edu


KishiKishi Animashaun Ducre
Associate Professor, African American Studies
200 Sims Hall
315-443-9354
Kanimash@syr.edu


GibsonCasaraeforprofile.jpgCasarae Gibson
Assistant Professor African American Studies
210 Sims Hall
315-443-4426
clgib100@syr.edu


Mayes.jpgJanis A. Mayes
Associate Professor, African American Studies
203 Sims Hall
315-443-9348
jamayes@syr.edu


RuffinHerbert G. Ruffin II
Associate Professor, History and Chair African American Studies
200 Sims Hall
315-443-3005
hruffin@syr.edu


SN SangmpamS. N. Sangmpam
Professor, African American Studies
217 Sims Hall
315-443-9943
snsangm@syr.edu


RenateSimson012915.jpgRenate (Rennie) Simson
Professor, African American Studies
215 Sims Hall
315-443-9346
rsimson@syr.edu


williams-james.jpgJames Gordon Williams
Assistant Professor, African American Studies
208 Sims Hall
315-443-9184
jgwillia@syr.edu



Adjunct Faculty
00_fac_placeholder.gifOmanii Abdullah
Adjunct Professor


oabdulla@twcny.rr.com
Biographical Page Link


Recent Emeriti Professors
00_fac_placeholder.gifWilliam Cole
Professor


wicole@syr.edu


00_fac_placeholder.gifMicere Githae Mugo
Professor


mmmugo@syr.edu


00_fac_placeholder.gifMilton C. Sernett
Professor


mcs5@mac.com


Contact us

African American Studies
200 Sims Hall
Phone: 315-443-4302
Fax: 315-443-1725
Email: aas@syr.edu

SU Campus Map